Current Article

Bryan Shaw

​Contact: Ann Hatch

For immediate release — Sept. 12, 2018

(AUSTIN) — Caught in the crossfire during the Dallas police shooting on July 7, 2016, two Dallas County Community College District police officers were wounded in the line of duty: Cpl. Bryan Shaw and Officer John Abbott. Shaw sustained a gunshot wound, and Abbott was injured by flying glass as the shooter fled into El Centro College that night.

Commander Joseph Hannigan and other officers assigned to the college joined Shaw and Abbott as the city of Dallas witnessed the tragic deaths of five officers (four from Dallas PD and one from DART) on the streets just beyond El Centro’s doors.

Both DCCCD officers — now sergeants — and a number of other law enforcement officers received the 2018 Star of Texas Award, presented by Gov. Greg Abbott, on Tuesday, Sept. 11, in Austin. The award is presented to peace officers, firefighters and first responders who have demonstrated heroism in service to their communities and the state of Texas. The Star of Texas Award was created in 2003 by the Texas Legislature to honor the men and women who have been killed or who have sustained injuries in the line of duty.

“Our peace officers, firefighters and first responders bravely serve our communities, but we must never forget that they also are members of our communities,” said Gov. Abbott. “They are our neighbors, friends and loved ones who go to work every day because they care deeply about those they serve — so much so that they are willing to put their own lives on the line to keep us safe.”

He added, “I thank all of the brave men and women here today, and those who couldn’t be, for your courage and the sacrifices you make to serve Texans.”

John Abbott

State Sen. Royce West joined the governor on stage with Abbott and Shaw as they received their awards; DCCCD Chief Lauretta Hill attended the ceremony as well. Shaw and Abbott are assigned to the District Office and Cedar Valley College, respectively.

“Sergeants Bryan Shaw and John Abbott received the Star of Texas Award for sustaining injuries while they were protecting the great citizens of Dallas County during the tragic incident of July 7. Their selfless act of bravery shows their commitment and dedication to this noble profession,” said Hill.

“On behalf of the entire Dallas County Community College District family, I want to congratulate Sgt. Bryan Shaw and Sgt. John Abbott. The Star of Texas Award recognizes their bravery and courage,” said Dr. Joe May, DCCCD’s chancellor. “We thank them — and every officer of the DCCCD Police Department serving all of our colleges and locations — for their dedication to the safety and security of our students and employees.”

Several Dallas/Fort Worth-area firefighters, police officers and first responders were recognized during the ceremony as well:

  • Firefighters injured in the line of duty: William An, Dallas Fire-Rescue.
  • Peace officers killed in the line of duty: Mark Diebold, Tarrant County Constable, Precinct 5; Rogelio Santandar, Dallas PD (Eastfield College alumnus); and David Sherrard, Richardson PD.
  • Peace officers injured in the line of duty: Carla Strauser and William Brewer, Arlington PD; Robert McMillin Jr., Crystal Almeida and Juan Hernandez, Dallas PD; Christopher Coots, Flower Mound PD; and Danny Shaw, Texas Department of Public Safety, Dallas County.

Gov. Abbott recognized a total 44 peace officers, firefighters and first responders with the 2018 Star of Texas Award.

# # #