News > 2016 News > Current Article

Current Article

​Contact: Ann Hatch

For immediate release — March 28, 2016
News brief

(DALLAS) — Elections for three seats — Districts 2, 3 and 4 — on the Dallas County Community College District’s board of trustees will be held on Saturday, May 7, 2016. A total of 10 candidates have filed for those seats, and several candidate forums are scheduled in late March and early April. Members of the campus community — including students and employees — and the general public are invited to attend.

Four candidates are running for the District 2 seat, which includes portions of downtown and north Dallas, plus the northwest corner of Dallas County: Richard Morgan, Phil Ritter, J.C. Osborne and Gene Robinson. Current District 2 Trustee Bob Ferguson, who is retiring, began serving on the board in 2004.

Three candidates are running for the District 3 seat, which covers much of northeast Dallas County: Dorothy Zimmermann, Frank Millsap and Tommy Reed. Trustee Jerry Prater is retiring from the board after 15 years of service to DCCCD.

Three candidates are running for the District 4 seat, which includes much of east and southeast Dallas County, to succeed Trustee Bill Metzger, who was elected to the board in 2010: Martha Jo Talbot, Monica Lira Bravo and Brad T. Underwood.

Four forums are scheduled:

  • Eastfield College — Wednesday, March 30, 10:30 a.m., in the Performance Hall (Building F);
  • Brookhaven College — Thursday, April 14, noon, in the Performance Hall (Building C);
  • Richland College — Tuesday, April 19, 9:30 a.m., in the Performance Hall, Building F (Fannin Hall);
  • and North Lake College — Wednesday, April 27, 12:30 p.m., in room G104, G Building.

For more information, contact Ann Hatch in the DCCCD office of public and governmental affairs at 214-378-1819 or at

# # #