Current Article

Hunter L. Hunt

Eddie Miranda, 214-378-1541, or
Kathye Hammontree, 214-378-1536,

For immediate release — April 17, 2013

(DALLAS) — Hunter L. Hunt, president and CEO of Hunt Consolidated Energy Inc., recently was elected chairman of the Dallas County Community College District Foundation’s board of directors. He replaces Texas Health Resources CEO Douglas D. Hawthorne, FACHE. Hunt, who previously served as chairman-elect, will complete his three-year term as chairman in January 2016. Hawthorne will continue to serve on the board’s executive committee as immediate past chair.

“Hunter Hunt is the right person at the right time to follow Doug Hawthorne’s outstanding leadership as chairman of the DCCCD Foundation board,” said Dr. Wright Lassiter Jr., DCCCD’s chancellor. “He brings energy, creativity, knowledge and passion to the board. He will continue building on the excellence of our community colleges and the foundation, which he has demonstrated through his tremendous work and support of our STEM Initiative and the DCCCD Campaign for Excellence.”

Dr. R. Jan LeCroy

The foundation’s board members also honored Dr. R. Jan LeCroy, former DCCCD chancellor from 1981 to 1988, by naming him director emeritus, a title that recognizes board members who have offered distinguished service to the DCCCD Foundation.

“We are pleased to honor Dr. Jan LeCroy this year as director emeritus,” Lassiter said. “His continued involvement with the district and our students at all seven colleges — even after his retirement as chancellor 25 years ago — has been an enduring legacy that will be remembered by many who know him.”

Hunt, who joined the foundation’s board in 2005, foresees a larger impact that the colleges of DCCCD will have on the north Texas economy in the future, plus the foundation’s critical role securing support from stakeholders in the community.

“Actively supporting the DCCCD Foundation is critical to the success of the community college district,” Hunt said. “If we are really going to create the workforce of the future that we believe Dallas County can and should have — that’s going to support the tremendous growth that we’ve seen over the past 30 to 40 years — we must have a successful community college district.

“Our foundation provides so many ways for our stakeholders, business leaders and concerned citizens to get involved and reach out to help the students, and also to support the college district,” Hunt added.


DCCCD Foundation Leadership: Biographical Sketches

Hunter L. Hunt
Chairman, DCCCD Foundation Board of Directors
President and CEO, Hunt Consolidated Energy Inc.

Hunt has a deep passion for community colleges that compelled him to join the DCCCD Foundation board in 2005. Aside from his current post as chairman of the board, he continues to provide his valuable expertise and support in other ways to advance the excellence of DCCCD and its service to the community.

Hunt chairs the STEM Initiative committee for the DCCCD Campaign for Excellence and helped expand the STEM Institute through his support. He joined the foundation’s executive team in 2010 as chairman-elect before assuming his post as chairman this year.

Hunt is president and CEO of Hunt Consolidated Energy, the holding company for Hunt Oil, Hunt Power and the other energy activities of the Dallas-based Ray L. Hunt family. Hunt Oil Company is one of the largest privately owned energy companies in the world, engaging in exploration and production, as well as liquefied natural gas (LNG). Hunt has led the efforts to expand the energy focus of the Hunt affiliation of companies to include the electric power industry. He established Hunt Power in 1998 to develop and invest in entrepreneurial opportunities in the electric and gas utility infrastructure industries.

In 1999, Hunt created Sharyland Utilities, L.P., as a regulated electric utility within Texas. Sharyland was the first greenfield utility created in the United States since the late 1960s. Over the years, Hunt Power and its subsidiaries have worked closely with Sharyland Utilities on a variety of innovative energy projects.

Hunt took a leave of absence from the Hunt organization in 1999 and 2000 to work for the George W. Bush campaign for president, where he served in the policy group focusing on energy, taxes and the budget. He graduated summa cum laude from Southern Methodist University, earning bachelor’s degrees with honors in both economics and political science. He serves SMU in several capacities, and he is a member the Engineering School’s executive board. He also is co-founder of the Hunter and Stephanie Hunt Institute of Engineering and Humanity, which focuses on bringing innovative technological and business solutions to the global poor.

Dr. R. Jan LeCroy
Director Emeritus, DCCCD Foundation

The DCCCD Foundation board of directors honored Dr. R. Jan LeCroy this year by naming him director emeritus of the board for his past service to the DCCCD Foundation. The second chancellor of the Dallas County Community College District (1981 to 1988), LeCroy served on the DCCCD Foundation board from 1998 to 2012.

He remains closely connected to DCCCD and students who attend all seven of its colleges, serving as a mentor — along with foundation board member and longtime friend Mike Myers — each year for recipients of the LeCroy Scholars program. Myers established that scholarship program to honor LeCroy after he retired in 1988.

LeCroy is immediate past president of the Dallas Citizens Council, a nonprofit organization comprising CEOs of the 250 largest corporations in the Dallas metropolitan area; its mission is to improve the quality of life and the economic viability of the community. During his professional career, he served as an officer in Central and South America after he graduated from the U.S. Military Academy, worked as a front-line manager for Reynolds Aluminum, and served community colleges in various leadership assignments for more than 20 years, including his seven-year tenure as DCCCD chancellor.

LeCroy’s past awards and leadership service include: the National Leadership Award from the American Association of Community Colleges, Distinguished Graduate of the Community College Leadership Program at the University of Texas, president of the Association of Texas Colleges and Universities, and chairman of the board of directors for the American Association of Community Colleges. He is a lifetime member of the board of directors for the Alumni Association at West Point.

LeCroy chaired the committee that developed the Texas Academic Skills Programs for the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. In 1995, he was appointed by then-Gov. George W. Bush on the Education Commission of the States, which establishes education policy for kindergarten through graduate school throughout the country.