Current Article

For immediate release — April 15, 2008

(DALLAS) — Sixteen students from the Dallas County Community College District have been chosen to participate in NASA’s Community College Aerospace Scholars program in April. Those DCCCD students and representatives from other community colleges across Texas will visit the Johnson Space Center in Houston for three days, April 24 through 26, to learn more about careers in science and engineering.

During their stay at JSC, the students will form teams and establish fictional companies that are interested in exploring Mars. Each company must develop a prototype Mars Rover; design a line drawing of the Rover; and form the company’s infrastructure, which includes developing budgets, communications and presentations. 

Community College Aerospace Scholars — which encourages community and junior college students to enter careers in science and engineering — is part of the Texas Aerospace Scholars program, which was created by the state of Texas in partnership with JSC and the Texas education community.

DCCCD students who are Community College Aerospace Scholars this year are listed below by name, college, hometown and major:

  • Humberto Bedoy, Richland College, Garland, sports medicine;
  • David Ceballos, Eastfield College, Dallas, mechanical engineering;
  • Enrique Chavez, Richland College, Dallas, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Humayun Chowdhury, North Lake College, Irving, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Catherine Culbert, North Lake College, Irving, journalism;
  • Esiquiel Marquez, Eastfield College, Dallas, mathematics;
  • Katherine Martinez, Brookhaven College, Addison, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Anna Molina, Mountain View College, Grand Prairie, graphic arts;
  • Adan Ortiz, North Lake College, Irving, computer science/mathematics;
  • Yesenia Reyes, Richland College, Garland, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Jeremy Robertson, Brookhaven College, Carrollton, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Heriberto Rodriguez, Mountain View College, Glen Heights, undeclared;
  • Isela Salinas, El Centro College, Irving, journalism;
  • Mary Scheerer, Mountain View College, DeSoto, liberal arts/sciences;
  • Michelle Taylor, Brookhaven College, Coppell, liberal arts/sciences; and
  • Jesus Valadez, Brookhaven College, Dallas, computer engineering.

For more information, visit:

# # #

Press contact: Ann Hatch