Current Article

For immediate release - September 2007

(DALLLAS) — The Dallas County Community College District once again extended the boundaries and opportunities for its students to transfer to a four-year institution when representatives from DCCCD and Ashford University recently signed a transfer agreement. As new educational partners, both DCCCD and Ashford University are providing more options for the district’s students to pursue a bachelor’s degree through distance learning once they have completed the district’s core curriculum or one of several associate degrees offered by DCCCD.

Representatives from Ashford University who participated in the ceremony included Dr. Jane McAuliffe, president, and David Vande Pol, senior director of academic partnerships. DCCCD’s representatives included Don Perry, interim associate vice chancellor for educational affairs; Pamela Quinn, president and assistant chancellor, R. Jan LeCroy Center for Educational Telecommunications; Dr. Jim Picquet, vice president of instructional services at LCET; and Angela Auzenne, director of public information for the LeCroy Center.

Representing Dr. Wright Lassiter, DCCCD’s chancellor, Perry said, “Our district has been involved in creating articulation agreements for many years. They are important tools that enable more students to enroll in DCCCD. Those students realize how much work it takes to succeed — plus their own commitment — and that they can transfer to another institution like Ashford University to pursue a bachelor’s degree or more advanced studies. Distance learning also opens up an avenue for those students. We are excited about this transfer agreement with Ashford University that will enable DCCCD students to follow their dreams.”

McAuliffe added, “This agreement is of great benefit to the students we serve — it’s all about the students. Our partnership with DCCCD helps Ashford University meet its mission; we are merging academic excellence between the two institutions. We look forward to welcoming DCCCD’s students to our university family.”

The purpose of the agreement is to enable DCCCD students who transfer to Ashford University to take with them the credit that they already have earned for as much relevant study as possible. The transfer agreement is with DCCCD as an entity and not with individual colleges within the district, and as a result, courses taken at any DCCCD college are considered equally transferable. All associate degrees from DCCCD — Associate in Arts, Associate of Arts in Teaching, Associate in Applied Sciences and Associate in Sciences — transfer to Ashford University as a block. Completion of the DCCCD core curriculum also will transfer as a block and will satisfy lower-division general education requirements at Ashford University.

A maximum number of 90 lower-division transfer units can be accepted by Ashford University. DCCCD students/graduates will go through Ashford University’s transfer process; they must meet all applicable requirements and deadlines related to application for admission, orientation and registration, plus payment of tuition and fees. Through this agreement, DCCCD distance learning students also may obtain course credits through the Dallas TeleCollege that will apply toward a bachelor’s degree at Ashford. 

Founded in 1918, Ashford University is a coeducational institution that is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The university offers programs in education, business, accounting, criminal and social justice, computer animation and graphic design, as well as other areas of study.  Ashford University offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, as well as a range of student activities and athletics at its Clinton, Iowa, campus. Online degree programs are available in education, organizational management, business administration and psychology. Tuition at the university is affordable for both on-campus and online degree programs; its fees are among the lowest in the United States compared to other private institutions. For more information, visit

DCCCD, the largest undergraduate institution in Texas, serves more than 64,000 credit and 25,000 continuing education students each semester. The district comprises seven individually accredited colleges: Brookhaven, Cedar Valley, Eastfield, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake and Richland — plus the Dallas TeleCollege, part of the R. Jan LeCroy Center. DCCCD has served more than 1.5 million students during its 40-year history. DCCCD's Web site is

For more information, contact Gregg Williams in the DCCCD office of transfer/university relations at (214) 860-2185 or Ann Hatch in the DCCCD office of public and governmental affairs at (214) 860-2478.

# # #

Press contact: Ann Hatch