Current Article

For immediate release — June 2007

(DALLAS) — Eight high school and college students from throughout the Dallas metroplex have been named LeCroy Scholars by the Dallas County Community College District Foundation for their outstanding leadership and scholarship. The program honors DCCCD’s former chancellor, Dr. R. Jan LeCroy, who served from 1981 to 1988. Each LeCroy Scholar receives up to $3,200 ($800 per semester with a maximum of four semesters) to attend any DCCCD college.

The students, the colleges they will or do attend and the fields they will study are:

  • Norma Broussard of Mesquite, Brookhaven College, nursing;
  • Stephanie Cailloux of Dallas, El Centro College, nursing;
  • Wendy Camarena of Dallas, Brookhaven College, communications;
  • Pamela Juarez of Carrollton, Brookhaven College, criminal justice;
  • Aisha Khan of Mesquite, Eastfield College, pharmacy;
  • Young Hoon Lim of Addison, Brookhaven College, pre-medicine;
  • Amelia Priddy of Mesquite, El Centro College, nursing; and
  • Perla Sanchez of Dallas, Brookhaven College, biology/business.
See biographical sketches of these students.

Six other students are returning 2006-2007 LeCroy Scholars. They are:

  • Olubolanle Afolayan of Garland, Eastfield College, biology;
  • Carmina Becerra of Irving, North Lake College, mathematics;
  • Karmen Casey of Irving, North Lake College, visual arts;
  • Norby Parra of Balch Springs, Eastfield College, general studies;
  • Joanne Stewart of Lewisville, North Lake College, science; and
  • Michelle Yoby of Highland Village, North Lake College, business.

For more information, contact Kathye Hammontree, DCCCD Foundation, at (214) 860-2455.

# # #

Press contact: Ann Hatch, 214-860-2478