Current Article

Cap and Gown Image

​For immediate release: April 26, 2005

(DALLAS) - Seven campuses, seven graduation ceremonies, thousands of smiling faces …that’s the picture area parents and family members will see throughout the Dallas County Community Colleges in May. Each college in the system - Brookhaven, Cedar Valley, Eastfield, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake and Richland - will hold separate graduation ceremonies at several locations throughout the area.

A schedule of graduation exercises is listed below:

  • Brookhaven College - Thursday, May 12, 7 p.m.; Loos Field House, Addison; Betheny Reid, executive director of the Dallas County Community Colleges Foundation, is the featured speaker.

  • Cedar Valley College - Thursday, May 12, 7 p.m.; outdoors (south of gym), Lancaster; Dr. John Ellis Price, CPA and vice provost for the University of North Texas Dallas Campus, is the featured speaker.

  • Eastfield College - Thursday, May 12, 7:30 p.m.; Mesquite Convention Center and Exhibit Hall, Mesquite; Dr. Jesus “Jess” Carreon, DCCC’s chancellor, is the featured speaker.

  • El Centro College - Sunday, May 1, 3 p.m.; Moody Coliseum, Southern Methodist University; Dr. Elba Garcia, Dallas City Council member, is the featured speaker.

  • Mountain View College - Thursday, May 12, 7 p.m.; Inspiring Body of Christ Church, 7710 S. Westmoreland Road, Dallas; Lupe Valdez, Dallas County Sheriff, is the featured speaker.

  • North Lake College - Thursday, May 12, 7 p.m.; North Lake College courtyard, Irving; President’s Scholar Chris Fulmer is the featured speaker.

  • Richland College - Friday and Saturday, May 6 and 7, 7:30 p.m. (last names A-K on Friday and last names L-Z on Saturday); outdoors by the lake with fireworks both evenings at or after twilight; Rose Marie Pilcher, the system’s 2004-2005 Excellence in Teaching Award winner from Richland, is the featured speaker.

For more information, call Ann Hatch, DCCC office of marketing and communications, at (214) 860-2478 or contact the marketing office on each campus.