Current Article

March 31, 2005     

(DALLAS) – The “best of the best” – or the brightest stars representing professional support staff members of the Dallas County Community Colleges – were recognized during a spring ceremony recently. A select group of professional support staff members who distinguished themselves on the job during the 2004-2005 academic year received certificates or plaques and the applause of their co-workers during the system’s annual “PSS Conference Day,” hosted and presented by Eastfield College in Mesquite.

The following professional support staff members were honored during the day’s festivities and workshops:

  • Retirees Hall of Honor: Professional Support Staff Award – Carole Hoffman, who worked in the system office in downtown Dallas;
  • Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year – Julius Mawathe, Jan R. LeCroy Center for Educational Telecommunications; and 
  • Part-Time Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year – Harlan Holiner, Brookhaven College.

Nominees/location winners for Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year were: Mawathe, the LeCroy Center; Jo Miller, Brookhaven College; Lupita Navarro, Cedar Valley College; Janet Loper, Eastfield College; Regina Gowans, El Centro College; Rosa Rosales, Mountain View College; William Edgar Yost Jr., North Lake College; Sandy Groom, Richland College; Kevin Robinson, system office; Diane Yates, District Service Center; and Kanora Jackson, Bill Priest Institute for Economic Development.

Nominees/location winners for Part-Time Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year included: Holiner from Brookhaven; Nisreen Almasri, Cedar Valley College; Gina Patterson, Eastfield College; Ricardo Hernandez, El Centro College; Carol White, Mountain View College; Yolanda Garcia, North Lake College; and Karen Johnson, Richland College.
Administrators and faculty members received their annual awards during a separate ceremony held at the Dallas Apparel Mart earlier in the semester.

Press contact: Ann Hatch