Current Article

For immediate release - May 18, 2005

(DALLAS) - Seven students recently received top honors from the Dallas County Community Colleges for their service and exemplary leadership in 2004-2005. Each student received the Amidon/Beauchamp Student Leader of the Year Award for her or his college, and one overall winner for the system received recognition, too.

Presented by the SPAR Council (Student Programs and Resources), the award honors the memory of two former SPAR directors: David Amidon, who served both Eastfield College and the system; and Sharon Beauchamp, who served both North Lake College and at the system level.

The college location recipients were: Russell C. Jonas IV, Brookhaven; Phillip Easley, Cedar Valley; Jennifer J. Hughes, Eastfield; Calvin Robinson, El Centro; Claudia Leal, Mountain View; Maria Irene Cunha, North Lake; and Bunmi Odewole, Richland.

Hughes of Eastfield College received the top honor as district recipient of the Amidon/Beauchamp Memorial Award. An outstanding student, Hughes wants to pursue a career in advertising. She plans to graduate in 2006 and then transfer to Southern Methodist University. 

Currently, Hughes is an honor student and a member of the academic honorary Phi Theta Kappa (for two-year colleges). She is an officer in EFC’s Student Government Association and is involved in many volunteer efforts both on- and off-campus. Hughes teaches piano lessons and is a swimming instructor in the continuing education department at Eastfield. She also is involved in a teen mentoring program at her church; has previously tutored at the Boys and Girls Club of Mesquite; and has done volunteer work with EQuest, a well-known riding program for disabled children.

The Amidon/Beauchamp Memorial Award program, in its ninth year, honors students for their academic excellence, involvement on campus and overall achievements. Interested students must apply for the award and are screened based on those criteria. This year’s honorees were recognized during a ceremony held at Brookhaven College.

Press contact: Ann Hatch