Prairie View A&M University


Dallas County Community College District and Prairie View A&M University hereby enter into the following agreement governing the matriculation at Prairie View A&M University of the Associate of Arts and Associate of Science graduates from Dallas County Community College District. This contract shall commence on September 1, 2000, and shall continue for a period of two (2) years, after which the institutions will undertake renegotiations of the agreement. This agreement sets forth the terms and conditions of students matriculation from Dallas County Community College District to Prairie View A&M University.


In order to facilitate and improve the transfer process for our students, Dallas County Community College District and Prairie View A&M University hereby enters into the following agreement.

Dallas County Community College District Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degree graduates completing the recommended program of study shall be eligible for admission into Prairie View A&M University.

Transfer students must meet the same standards and criteria for admission to a major degree sequence as non-transfer students to Prairie View A&M University.

Prairie View A&M University's enrollment management staff will write these new Dallas County Community College District students, congratulate them on their enrollment, encourage their completion of the associate degree and provide the student with information should they be interested in pursuing a baccalaureate degree upon completion of the associate degree.

Transfer students will receive academic credits for college-level course with grades of "C" or better accepted for fulfillment of the requirement of the associate degree. Remedial and developmental courses will not be accepted for transfer. Non-credit courses a student wishes to convert to credit must be validated via CLEP or other examination acceptable to the university certifying official and the department in which degree major is located. The pass/fail courses must be converted to a letter grade in order to transfer to Prairie View A&M University.

It is understood that if placement test performance or performance in a course prior to the semester's census date evidences that a student does not have the foundation or skill to enroll or remain enrolled in an upper level course, the student must enroll in a lower level preparatory course or follow a prescribed independent study plan prior to enrolling in an upper level course in the specific discipline where strengthening is needed.

Prairie View A&M University cannot assure every student the completion of requirements for the baccalaureate degree in four semesters. A residency requirement of thirty-(30) semester credit hours is in effect at Prairie View A&M University.

Prairie View A&M University assures the acceptance of any Associate of Arts or Associate of Science degree graduate who has earned a grade point average of 2.00 or better on a 4.00 scale. Students who are accepted with 60 transfer hours will be classified as juniors pending their satisfactory completion of all parts of the Texas Academic Skills Programs (TASP) examination. However, 66 semester hours are the maximum transferable hours for any community/junior colleges.

Note: Remedial/developmental or technical/vocational courses will not be included for transfer in this General Articulation Agreement from DCCCD colleges unless specified by individual colleges in a Program-to-Program Articulation Agreement.


This agreement shall be reviewed on a biennial basis or either institution makes any time program changes. Any program changes will be identified and incorporated into subsequent t agreements.

This agreement may be terminated by either party by giving written notice of said party's intention to the Chancellor of Dallas County Community College District or his designee, the Vice Chancellor of Educational Affairs, and the President of Prairie View A&M University, or his designee the Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.

This agreement shall be in effect for two years beginning on September 1, 2000 and ending August 31, 2002. It is eligible for renewal within 60 days prior to its expiration date.


All notices, demands, requests and other communication required shall be in writing and shall be deemed to have been given when personally delivered or mailed to:

Dallas County Community College District:

Dr. J. William Wenrich
701 Elm Street, Suite 400
Dallas, Texas 75202
Telephone: 214-860-2125
Fax: 214-860-2009

Prairie View A&M University:

Dr. Charles A. Hines
P.O. Box 188
Prairie View, Texas 77446
Telephone: 409-857-2111
Fax: 409-857-3928

The parties have executed this agreement in duplicate originals on this date, October 20, 2000. An original signed copy of this agreement by each institution at designated offices of the college chancellors and university presidents and designees as well as the Office of the Registrar and Admissions or Enrollment Management.

Dallas County Comm. College District            Prairie View A&M University
Dr. Corina Gardea                                              Mr. Ronald E. Jones
Executive District Director for                          Vice President for Student and
Educational Partnerships                                  Enrollment Services

Dr. Robert Aguero                                              Dr. E. Joahanne Thomas-Smith
Vice Chancellor for Educational Affairs           Provost and Vice President for   
                                                                               Academic Affairs

Dr. J. William Wenrich                                        Dr. Charles A. Hines
Chancellor                                                           President

Updated 3/29/12