Drivers Education Classes

Learn to Drive With Dallas College and Virtual Drive

Texas Drivers Ed for Teens (14-18)

Richland has partnered with Virtual Drive to offer teen and adult driver education Texas drivers ed for teens ages 14-18-years-old.

This 100% online parent-taught teen drivers education course uses the Texas state-approved concurrent learning method. Each module consists of the main lesson, topics and support material. The fully narrated course helps drivers to understand the rules of the road, state laws and safe driving techniques.

At the conclusion of each module, there is a 6-10 question knowledge exam and a full comprehensive material review at the conclusion of each chapter. At the end of the course, the student will complete a final assessment. This 50-question exam only covers materials learned in the course and the student can take it as many times as they need to pass. Successful course completion of this approved course fulfills your written DPS exam requirements.

Once a student registers with the State of Texas to take the parent-taught program (form DL-92) and finishes Module 1 of Virtual Drive of Texas, he/she will be prepared to apply for a learner's permit through his/her local DPS office. Please be aware that the student and parent/guardian must bring the required documents to the driver license office.

The forms needed are provided inside the course and an easy-to-follow video is available to help the parent prepare these forms. Once the student is 16, has held the permit for six months, and has completed the Virtual Drive of Texas course, he/she is eligible to apply for an unrestricted Texas drivers license through your local DPS office.

Due to new state laws, the student will now be required to take a driving test administered by the DPS. This is a new requirement for all first-time drivers in the State of Texas. Don't worry; there is a supplemental video available that helps the student prepare for the driving test. No other course has anything like this. After the student obtains his/her license, it is recommended that he/she checks with his/her insurance agent for reduced rates on insurance. The Virtual Drive certificate of completion qualifies the recipient for a 10-15% discount with most agencies.

Included in the Teen Drivers Education course is a parents' section. This section is short, yet informational. The parent (instructor) will be provided with his/her own course that will explain the method of teaching and a review of the material for each of the seven one-hour lessons. This brief yet informative review will prepare the instructor for the upcoming lesson.

After reviewing the information that will be taught, the instructor will be provided with a printable lesson guide that will serve as a reminder of the topics to teach, as well as a record of completion. This instructor disk will also include all the answers to review questions and worksheets. This will aid the instructor when mentoring each question period.

The cost of the teen drivers education course is $75.

Texas Drivers Ed for Adults (18-24)

Texas requires first-time drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 to complete an approved adult drivers education course. This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) as course number #C2636 through Virtual Drive of Texas. Most only take a day to complete this six-hour adult driving course, but students have up to three months to complete the course. Virtual Drive of Texas not only provides the TDLR-recognized ADE-1317 certificate of completion but also experienced staff to answer any questions you have as you go through the class.

This six-hour interactive Texas adult drivers education course includes short modules designed to help accelerate your learning and includes end-of-module practice tests to help you determine how well you are retaining the material. The adult course also includes the DPS written test online.

Upon completion of the six hours of online training, students have immediate access to their ADE-1317 certificate of completion. Students are able to take their certificate to their local DPS and complete the in-car test in order to obtain a Texas drivers license. Quick, easy and timely – you can't beat it!

The cost of the adult drivers education course is $38.

Visit the Virtual Drive website to register and pay for the teen drivers education or adult driver education course.

During the more than 15 years in which Virtual Drive has provided drivers education in Texas, it has been their pleasure serving the new drivers of Texas, their parents and families. They continue to grow their programs to enhance driving skills for all drivers throughout the state. Since Virtual Drive is state-approved, you are guaranteed to receive the correct certificate of completion whether you are completing a parent-taught teen drivers ed course or a Texas adult drivers education course.

For general questions, please contact Heather Young at 972-761-6716 or HeatherYoung@dcccd.edu.

For technical questions, please contact the Virtual Drive help center at 1-806-352-9558 or 888-83V-DRIVE.

Enroll Now