Bypass navigation bar Search Home

DCCCD Celebrates 40th Anniversary, Honors Employees


For immediate release - March 1, 2006

(DALLAS) – While most middle-aged folks try to forget their birthday, gray hair and crow's feet, the Dallas County Community College District decided to toot its horn, toss confetti, dance and throw a BIG party to celebrate its 40th anniversary. 

More than 2,000 faculty, staff and administrators attended the special celebration on Thursday, Feb. 23, 2006, which was held at the Garland Independent School District's Special Events Center. Founding DCCCD Chancellor Dr. Bill Priest joined several trustees from the district, plus other dignitaries, special guests and retired employees, as the assembled group counted the district’s 40 candles and remembered a journey that has affected the lives of more than 1.5 million students during those four decades.

The DCCCD anniversary celebration – based on the theme “It All Begins Here: Our Heroes and the Journey” – included some “talk time” with Priest; a keynote address by Robert L. Thornton III, outgoing chair of the DCCCD Foundation; and comments about everyday heroes – the district’s faculty, staff and administrators – by Dr. Jesus “Jess” Carreon, DCCCD’s chancellor. 

A fast-paced dance down the red carpet launched “tux time” for attendees, who laughed and clapped as administrators led the way, dressed as the tux-and-gown crowd, followed by employees who have worked for DCCCD more than 35 years, plus members of the Conference Day committee. The Dallas Mavericks' “Mavs Man” and mascots from Brookhaven, North Lake and Richland Colleges were on hand to energize the crowd. An awards program honoring employees followed the parade. 

“I want to thank everyone who attended our combined 2006 Conference Day celebration in Garland last Thursday as we successfully kicked off DCCCD’s 40th anniversary party,” said Carreon. “We were dancing in the aisles, clapping to the beat and laughing with one another during the fun, food and festivities!”

He added, “As I mentioned last week, each employee – faculty, professional support staff and administrators – is a hero. By educating students, enriching lives and building community, we save lives every day. We help others better themselves through education; in turn, they build better lives for their families, and they contribute to their communities.  And, on behalf of the entire DCCCD family, I congratulate all award nominees for awards.”

Awards and their recipients include:

  • Hall of Honor: Administrator Award – Mavis Williams, District Service Center; Professional Support Staff Award – Patricia Anne Bacon, Richland College; Faculty Award – Shirley Smith, Brookhaven College.

  • Part-Time Professional Support Staff of the Year Award: Anthony L. Washington, Cedar Valley College.

  • Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award: Linda Noblin, Cedar Valley College.

  • Innovation of the Year: Energy Efficient Green Building Institute, Cedar Valley College – David Eishen (team leader), Vernon Beuke, C.A. Engleton, Pam Gist, Jim McCormick, Lynn Nolte and Jennifer Wimbish.

  • Administrator of the Year: Don Baynham, Eastfield College.

  • Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year Award: Ella Shaw, District Office.

  • Jean Sharon Griffith Student Development Leadership Award: Miyoshi Holmes, Cedar Valley College.

  • Miles Production Award for Full-Time Excellence in Teaching: John Weldon Berry, El Centro College.

Press contact: Ann Hatch, 214-860-2478