Bypass navigation bar Search Home

Sign In

Phi Theta Kappa's Highest Honor Goes to Cedar Valley!

Student Accomplishments
& Opportunities

The Alpha Zeta Omicron Chapter from Cedar Valley College is Phi Theta Kappa’s 2014 Most Distinguished Chapter. That’s out of 1,300 chapters! Most Distinguished Chapter is the highest honor given by PTK, which is the international honor society for two-year colleges. Congratulations to chapter officers Tobias Lasco, John Maclean, Denise Martin, Alexis Wilkins, Phillip Washington, Felicia Taylor, Bernadette Washington and Alexander Mullins.

 Eastfield, El Centro PTK Chapters Among the Best
The Eastfield College and El Centro College chapters of Phi Theta Kappa brought home honors from the international convention in Orlando, Fla.:
  • Eastfield College’s Psi Eta Chapter was named one of the Top 100 Chapters (out of 1,300). It also received Most Distinguished Honors for its action project, “Food Versus Competition.” Attending from Eastfield were chapter officers Rachel Knowles, Jessica Tito-Aplicano, Paola Sanchez and Glenn Ress.
  • El Centro College’s Sigma Tau Chapter achieved the Five Star Chapter level once more and won the Distinguished Chapter Award; Top 100 Chapters Award; Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award; and Honors in Action Theme Award (awarded to only three chapters internationally). Attending were chapter officers Yeimi Figueroa, Kevin Gomez, Rosario Rojas, Mayte De Paz and Giovanni Escobedo.
Extra! Extra! Brookhaven Newspaper Students Win 16 Awards!
The editors, writers, photographers and designers of the Brookhaven Courier student newspaper received 16 awards at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in April. Winners are:
Previously Published Work
  • 1st – In-Depth Reporting – Nicholas Bostick
  • Honorable Mention – News Feature – Aaron Ortega
  • 3rd – Sports News – Scott Mitchell
  • 2nd – Critical Review – Kathryn DeBruler
  • 1st – Single Subject Page Design – Aris Brookins, Jordan Scruffy Wylie, Adriana Salazar
  • 1st – Picture Story – Kathy Tran, Scott Mitchell, Adriana Salazar, Earl M. Ward
  • 2nd – Photo Illustration – Scott Mitchell, Kathy Tran
  • 3rd – Sports Page Design – Kathy Tran
  • Honorable Mention – Feature Page – Scott Mitchell
  • 3rd – Feature Photo – Paul Lauder
  • Honorable Mention – Lit Magazine Illustration – Janeth Davalos
  • 3rd – Lit Magazine Cover Design – Staff


Live Contests
  • Honorable Mention – Print Ad Design – Kathy Tran
  • Honorable Mention – Feature Photo – Kathy Tran
  • Honorable Mention – Copy Editing – Chris Allison
  • Honorable Mention – PR Release Writing – Chris Allison
Eastfield’s Newspaper, Magazine Students Capture 31 Awards
Eastfield College students won 31 awards for their work on The Et Cetera newspaper and The Alternative literary magazine at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention. Alex Hernandez took first place in the live editorial cartoon competition. Others who won awards are Caitlin Piper, Justin David Tate, Yolanda Ramirez, Jonathan Wences, Justin Yanger, Kevin Cushingberry Jr., Braulio Tellez, Keturah Jones, Chanel Jimenez, Danyelle Roquemore, Jessica Garcia, Ginny Morris, Miguel Padilla, Chadney Cantrell, Claudia Guerra and Alex Kennedy.

Mountain View Student Earns Top PTK Distinction

Jose Sandoval recently received an international award as 2014 Phi Theta Kappa’s 2014 Distinguished Chapter Member. Jose is one of only 30 students in the entire organization to receive the honor. Distinguished Chapter Members are nominated by their chapters and are chosen based on a student’s embodiment of the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship), through Honors in Action and other chapter activities.

El Centro Student Is Awarded Ivory Moore Scholarship

Courtney Blow is the recipient of the 2014 Ivory Moore Community College Scholarship, sponsored by the Texas Association of Black Personnel in Higher Education.

Brookhaven Ceramics Students Chosen to Exhibit at Gallery
Esther Durrschmidt, Dulcinea Hair and Syliva Lopez exhibited their art in the first annual Rose Award for Ceramic Innovation held at the Janette Kennedy Gallery at South Side on Lamar in Dallas. This new competition is for ceramics students within DCCCD, chosen by their ceramics instructors. Dulcinea Hair was awarded the Director’s Award for her work.
Mountain View Student Places Second in Ceramics Competition
Reyna Flores won second place at the Rose Award for Ceramic Innovation exhibition and competition, held at South Side on Lamar.
With Help From North Lake Students, Irving Cleans Up
Students from the North Lake College Service Learning program and the Alpha Zeta Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa donated their time to Keep Irving Beautiful’s 2014 Don’t Mess with Texas Trash-Off park cleanup event in April. Alpha Zeta Eta Vice President of Service Jenny Maique is one of the volunteers interviewed in a video of the event, created by Irving Community Television Network.
El Centro Math Student Is Awarded $4,000 Scholarship
The national mathematics honor society awarded Larissa Villarruel a $4,000 scholarship recently. The Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society chose Villarruel for service to her chapter and for her academic record.